AGM Report and Committee 2014

The 2014 AGM was held at the Quy Mill Hotel with a good attendance of some 40 members and guests. The Chair, Michele Conway, welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked the Hon. Secretary, Hazel Whiten, the Hon. Treasurer, Janet Maguire and Committee members Rod Gifford and Malcolm Collins for all their hard work during the year. She also described the many successes of both our County teams and individual County members, many of whom had represented not just our County but also England and Great Britain and had won not just County and Regional Championships but also medals at National and International events.

Cambridgeshire Success

Shooting for England in the Home Internationals were Anita North at Olympic Trap, Georgia Moule at FITASC and Phillip Simpson and Brian Dunbavin at Sporting, Phillip was the team captain. Brian was also a member of the winning Veterans' team at the second ICTSF World Sporting Championships in Ontario. Flying the flag for Great Britain were Belinda York at Universal Trench, Taylor Hedgecock and Brian Dunbavin at Compak, Jane Bell at Helice and Steve Grant at FITASC and Compak. Jane is the current European Ladies Champion at Helice and Steve Grant the Veteran Champion at Compak. Jane also won team and individual Silver medals at the Helice World Championships and has recently been honoured by Beretta for her achievements in Helice. The English Open Champion at Compak is Peter Simpson. Taylor Hedgecock was the Colt's Champion at the English and British Open Sporting, the Beretta World, the British Open Sportrap and took Silver in Juniors at Britain's first ever Compak Grand Prix. At the same event Steve Grant took Silver in Veterans and Brian Dunbavin Bronze. Brian Dunbavin also took Bronze at the English Open Sporting and Georgia Moule took Silver in Ladies and Bronze in Juniors at the English Open FITASC. Jane Bell took silver in the Helice British Grand Prix, Belinda York took Bronze in Ladies at the English Open UT, Phil Gray took third overall at the Beretta World and Barry Simpson was third in Veterans at the same event.

Our speaker for the AGM was Ralph Barker, the Firearms and Explosives Licensing Manager for Cambridgeshire Constabulary. He gave a clear explanation of the changes to the application forms for Shotgun certificates and was happy to answer our questions.

Ralph kindly agreed to present our County awards to our County Champions for 2013 and to our Supreme Champion for 2013 who is Chris Morris.

The format of the Supreme Champion competition was debated at the AGM and from 2014 the best 12 points scores from the 15 County Championships will count toward the competition total. This is to make the competition fair for shooters who work on Saturdays or have other commitments on some weekends.

He also presented two juniors, Georgia Moule and Taylor Hedgecock with our new County Young Achievers Awards. Both have made National teams and have won medals at National events and these awards are to recognise their achievements and also their dedication and commitment to our sport.

County Young Achievers Awards
georgia trophy taylor

Another new, and very special award, came from CPSA Head Office and was awarded to Tony Manning for long service to our sport. He has been a CPSA member for some 80 years and is still shooting in his nineties.

Presentations were also made, in more liquid form(!) to thank Lesley Gifford for her help with fundraising, Sarah Christensen for running our website and Ralph Barker for giving up his evening to come and talk to us.

The Committee for 2014 are:

2014 committee

County Champions for 2013 are:

2013 County Champions
ABT  Chris Morris 
All Round  Tim Jones, 
Double Rise  Phil Barnard 
Down the Line  Robert Peacock 
Double Trap  Paul Ashley 
English Skeet  Chris Morris 
FITASC  Brian Dunbavin 
Helice  Graham Carter 
Olympic Skeet  Graham Carter 
Olympic Trap  Derek MClean 
Single Barrel  Robert Peacock 
Skeet Doubles  Colin Fordham 
Sporting  Steve Grant 
Sportrap  Jamie Harding 
Universal Trench  Phil Barnard

All the committee members are unpaid volunteers. They work hard on your behalf to ensure that there are trophies and classes to be won, fixtures are organised, teamwear is available, teams are organised, that the books are straight and that minutes reflect an accurate record of meetings and what was decided. If you have an issue that needs to be resolved, and you are at a shoot, please wait for the committee member to finish shooting before raising your issue. They have paid for their enjoyment just like you.

This website is written and maintained by Sarah Christensen on behalf of Cambridgeshire CPSA. If you spot any errors or ommissions, please email me.